Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 49 of 49

Thread: Fibre: Which OpenServe ISP to go with?

  1. #41
    Senior Member TheV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    708
    Experience

    Default

    I might consider splitting it after all. Thanks for all the info!

  2. #42
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    27
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by williegawie View Post
    @XtaCy969 helped me out with this. Did a check and its not active yet, and no ETA from the big T either...
    Williegawie did openserve install the fiber box in your residence as well?

  3. #43
    Addicted Member QuiXilver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    3,126
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    @XtaCy696 - Do you have any knowledge about what's going on behind the scenes? Openserve came home to complete the installation only to tell me one of their contractors needs to run fibre from a box in the complex (which is about 5m from my flat) to a box on my balcony before he can do anything more.

    Do you know how long this process takes?

  4. #44
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    20
    Experience

    Default

    @QuiXilver Unfortunately not, all I can say not to bad mouth Telkom but the process can take as long as any Telkom process :/ Im sure you understand where I am going with this

  5. Saying Thanks:

    QuiXilver (January 11th, 2017)  

  6. #45
    Senior Member GvR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    491
    Experience

    Default

    Must say that Telkom upped their game with my installation. They were very quick to respond and do the installation. There was a problem on the line and I waited till the new year to have it sorted, but as of today I am up and running. Must say the service I received from Telkom and their contractors was excellent.

  7. Saying Thanks:

    QuiXilver (January 11th, 2017)  

  8. #46
    Addicted Member QuiXilver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    3,126
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by XtaCy696 View Post
    @QuiXilver Unfortunately not, all I can say not to bad mouth Telkom but the process can take as long as any Telkom process :/ Im sure you understand where I am going with this
    I hope it's quicker. They were great up to now.

    Quote Originally Posted by GvR View Post
    Must say that Telkom upped their game with my installation. They were very quick to respond and do the installation. There was a problem on the line and I waited till the new year to have it sorted, but as of today I am up and running. Must say the service I received from Telkom and their contractors was excellent.
    This is a little more reassuring.

    ISPAfrika are trying to get me a more concrete answer on what's going on. As much as I hate waiting, I hate not knowing even more.

  9. #47
    Senior Member williegawie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    118
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Herklas View Post
    Williegawie did openserve install the fiber box in your residence as well?
    Nope, just boxes within the complex, (and the complex next door). I did hear from a technician at an office that Telkom is rejecting some of the complex installations because of not enough points being installed. Not sure if its that, but the Telkom call centre told me to go to a branch to get the details.

  10. Saying Thanks:

    Herklas (January 12th, 2017)  

  11. #48
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    27
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by williegawie View Post
    Nope, just boxes within the complex, (and the complex next door). I did hear from a technician at an office that Telkom is rejecting some of the complex installations because of not enough points being installed. Not sure if its that, but the Telkom call centre told me to go to a branch to get the details.
    Mabe i need to go to the branch as weel, the funny thing is the have installaed the fiber boxes in all the units in our complex, as per webafrica openserve are not done they still need to come install a optical network terminal not sure when that will happen is is taking forever.

  12. #49
    Senior Member williegawie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    118
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Herklas View Post
    Mabe i need to go to the branch as weel, the funny thing is the have installaed the fiber boxes in all the units in our complex, as per webafrica openserve are not done they still need to come install a optical network terminal not sure when that will happen is is taking forever.
    Yup. They "finished" in November already, and while there were busy I asked them when it will be available, and they said 7 December. I was hoping for a fibred Christmas, so I am quite impatient now.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •