WoW Classic will have six phases

When World of Warcraft: Classic was discussed at BlizzCon 2018, the content was going to be released in four phases. After some feedback and more thought on the game, the phases have been increased to six to closer emulate the release of content across patches of the base game.

The end result isn’t a completely faithful to original system, but it does mirror it rather closely. The new phases also allow certain raids to have no way of getting gear elsewhere to make the current content trivial, like Dire Maul being pushed back to allow players to pit themselves against Onyxia’s Lair and Molten Core.

Phase 1

  • Molten Core
  • Onyxia
  • Maraudon

Phase 2

  • Dire Maul
  • Azuregos
  • Kazzak

Phase 3

  • Blackwing Lair
  • Darkmoon Faire
  • Darkmoon deck drops begin

Phase 4

  • Zul’Gurub
  • Green Dragons

Phase 5

  • Ahn’Qiraj War Effort begins
  • Ahn’Qiraj raid opens when the war effort dictates
  • Dungeon loot reconfiguration: Tier 0.5 Dungeon gear, Relics, drop rates and location changes

Phase 6

  • Naxxramas
  • Scourge Invasion

While some might grumble at the release phases still not being exactly like the game’s patch releases, the shuffling around to make sure you can’t overgear elsewhere while getting players into endgame content sounds like a good compromise.

A breakdown on the release schedule can be found here.

If it has the letters RPG in it, I am there. Still battling with balancing trying to play every single game that grabs my interest, getting 100% in a JRPG, and devoting time to my second home in Azeroth.

Lost Password

Sign Up