Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Results 51 to 60 of 60

Thread: NAT Type 3 - and how to change it

  1. #51
    Senior Member XbatousaiX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Knysna
    Posts
    413
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nadir View Post
    Does anyone have the correct vpn settings for phones? I cant get it to work on my phone but the modem works perfectly with the settings I posted above. There are more settings on the phone, that's not on the modem, such as port numbers etc which I don't have/know
    You should just have to change the APN to mtnvpn

  2. #52
    Addicted Member Nadir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,728
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by XbatousaiX View Post
    You should just have to change the APN to mtnvpn
    I tried that but it doesn't connect. But the same sim in a modem with the apn set to mtnvpn it works just fine. There are more settings on the phone and I think the ones that are left blank meant to have something there

  3. #53
    Oupa
    <3 Shadow of the Colossus Remake
    Vecta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Parow North, Cape Town
    Posts
    5,033
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    After 1000 years my NAT is finally on Type 2 When I saw the switch it was as if the heavens opened up and I could hear the angel's singing.


  4. #54
    Gaming Wizard Fid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    11,803
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vecta View Post
    After 1000 years my NAT is finally on Type 2 When I saw the switch it was as if the heavens opened up and I could hear the angel's singing.
    I’m about to start the process on my side? Any tips or advice you can offer when putting the query through for the first time? Did you call or send an e-mail?
    Hidden Content " border="0" />

  5. #55
    Oupa
    <3 Shadow of the Colossus Remake
    Vecta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Parow North, Cape Town
    Posts
    5,033
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SgtFiddler View Post
    I’m about to start the process on my side? Any tips or advice you can offer when putting the query through for the first time? Did you call or send an e-mail?
    I done everything - called literally near 15 times, went into stores (but they outright said they cant help me), sent several e-mails... Honestly I'd suggest you stick to e-mail as 90% of the consultants who I reached on the phone had ZERO idea what MTN's VPN service even is, you're just gonna get frustrated as heck.

    In the end I got to 809(at)mtn(dot)coza with the subject VPN Activation Required, and in the body listed only Contract Account Holder, Cell Number Required for Activation and my Contact Number.

    This was then forwarded on to customercare(at)mtn(dot)coza who corresponded with updates, then I followed the apn instructions from within this thread.


  6. Saying Thanks:

    Fid (December 20th, 2017),  Nadir (December 20th, 2017)  

  7. #56
    Addicted Member Nadir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,728
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vecta View Post
    In the end I got to 809(at)mtn(dot)coza with the subject VPN Activation Required, and in the body listed only Contract Account Holder, Cell Number Required for Activation and my Contact Number.

    This was then forwarded on to customercare(at)mtn(dot)coza who corresponded with updates, then I followed the apn instructions from within this thread.
    How long did it take for them to get back to you?

  8. #57
    Oupa
    <3 Shadow of the Colossus Remake
    Vecta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Parow North, Cape Town
    Posts
    5,033
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nadir View Post
    How long did it take for them to get back to you?
    Hey bud In terms of e-mail response, they replied within 2 days.

    In terms of the entire process from start to eventually being resolved, it took months..


  9. Saying Thanks:

    Nadir (December 20th, 2017)  

  10. #58
    Gaming Wizard Fid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    11,803
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vecta View Post
    I done everything - called literally near 15 times, went into stores (but they outright said they cant help me), sent several e-mails... Honestly I'd suggest you stick to e-mail as 90% of the consultants who I reached on the phone had ZERO idea what MTN's VPN service even is, you're just gonna get frustrated as heck.

    In the end I got to 809(at)mtn(dot)coza with the subject VPN Activation Required, and in the body listed only Contract Account Holder, Cell Number Required for Activation and my Contact Number.

    This was then forwarded on to customercare(at)mtn(dot)coza who corresponded with updates, then I followed the apn instructions from within this thread.
    Thanks man, this’ll help a lot.
    Hidden Content " border="0" />

  11. Saying Thanks:

    Vecta (December 20th, 2017)  

  12. #59
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nadir View Post
    Using a Huawei E5577, its a portable lte modem. My bro stole my B315, but he has the same settings

    Here are the settings
    Attachment 84083

    Thats the network test
    Attachment 84084

    On the MTN active website, under "My services" tab, does yours have packet switched data? That's the only optional service that's new for me after I activated the dual call sim
    Attachment 84085
    Hi

    I am struggling with my MTN VPN setup. Do you need to use and username and password? and what should it be?

    Many Thanks

  13. #60
    Addicted Member Nadir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,728
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lucian View Post
    Hi

    I am struggling with my MTN VPN setup. Do you need to use and username and password? and what should it be?

    Many Thanks
    Nope there is no password. The space just auto-fills with the dots for me

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •