Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 4G latency is higher than 3G?

  1. #1
    Oupa
    Oh my God I'm back with the Master Race
    IwastheStig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    5,816
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default 4G latency is higher than 3G?

    Can someone who would know, know why this. When I play EFT on 3G I get 199-230 ping but comes with a few connection losses. If I play on 4G I get no losses but my ping is 253-289.
    This makes no sense whatsoever. I've tried changing B315 settings. I've even reset the router, tried another router as well.

  2. #2
    Gaming Wizard
    No.1 Pose
    SauRoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cape town
    Posts
    24,740
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IwastheStig View Post
    Can someone who would know, know why this. When I play EFT on 3G I get 199-230 ping but comes with a few connection losses. If I play on 4G I get no losses but my ping is 253-289.
    This makes no sense whatsoever. I've tried changing B315 settings. I've even reset the router, tried another router as well.
    Could very well be that you are connecting to a different tower and thus the discrepancy.

    Or the tower is the same but the routing differs.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - "I am Quiet, I am the absence of words."

  3. #3
    Oupa
    Get off my lawn kids!
    Highwayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kempton park
    Posts
    5,964
    Experience

    Default

    Local server latency on LTE(4g) should be about 20 - 30 ms and on 3g it is about 50 - 70 ms.

  4. #4
    Oupa
    Oh my God I'm back with the Master Race
    IwastheStig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    5,816
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Can I change which tower I connect too.
    I'm currently in EFT lobby and to France my ping is over 300. Also when I do speedtests to local connections I'm between 70 and 90ms. This tells me either Telkom is FN up somewhere and I'm screwed because they only sell never fix or respond to complaints.

  5. #5
    Oupa
    Get off my lawn kids!
    Highwayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kempton park
    Posts
    5,964
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IwastheStig View Post
    Can I change which tower I connect too.
    I'm currently in EFT lobby and to France my ping is over 300. Also when I do speedtests to local connections I'm between 70 and 90ms. This tells me either Telkom is FN up somewhere and I'm screwed because they only sell never fix or respond to complaints.
    Move your router to a friends or family place to see if it is the same elsewhere i'd say , I have a LTE antenna you could have tried but I am in Jozi

  6. #6
    Gaming Wizard
    No.1 Pose
    SauRoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cape town
    Posts
    24,740
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default 4G latency is higher than 3G?

    Quote Originally Posted by IwastheStig View Post
    Can I change which tower I connect too.
    I'm currently in EFT lobby and to France my ping is over 300. Also when I do speedtests to local connections I'm between 70 and 90ms. This tells me either Telkom is FN up somewhere and I'm screwed because they only sell never fix or respond to complaints.
    Are you stating this as a matter or fact or based on historic assumption?

    Because Telkom have come a long way customer service wise.

    Might want to ask on their very own forums even.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - "I am Quiet, I am the absence of words."

  7. #7
    Oupa
    Oh my God I'm back with the Master Race
    IwastheStig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    5,816
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SauRoN View Post
    Are you stating this as a matter or fact or based on historic assumption?

    Because Telkom have come a long way customer service wise.

    Might want to ask on their very own forums even.
    Well for last few times I requested support on Twitter I've had no responses.

  8. #8
    Gaming Wizard
    No.1 Pose
    SauRoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cape town
    Posts
    24,740
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default 4G latency is higher than 3G?

    Quote Originally Posted by IwastheStig View Post
    Well for last few times I requested support on Twitter I've had no responses.
    So use the correct channels then.

    Twitter doesn't log you a ticket and get your a guaranteed response or even chance someone will look at it.

    It's a SOCIAL platform.

    You use Twitter after the fact to make a stink once you have a reference number at the very least.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - "I am Quiet, I am the absence of words."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •