Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Plex Server

  1. #11
    Super Moderator Viking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    18,225
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diego_1za View Post
    I could just fix my old pap pc... needs a power supply... anyone have a spare power supply laying around? Otherwise I'll take Viking up on his potential offer.
    If you got an old pc then getting a basic psu is dirt cheap hey

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Of all the things Ive lost, I miss my mind the most!
    poiromaniax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Norwood, JHB
    Posts
    813
    Experience

    Default

    Yeah Plex doesn't need huge power unless you are going to have multiple clients all needing transcoding.

    They also have hardware accelerated features now if you have GPU....

    But for it to work basically, a potato will do (Even a Raspberry Pi will work, although not through an official package)

  3. Saying Thanks:

    Diego_1za (July 8th, 2018)  

  4. #13
    Gaming Wizard
    No.1 Pose
    SauRoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cape town
    Posts
    26,581
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Raspberry Pi as a client sure but I reckon you’ll have endless pain using it as a server unless it can Direct Play everything.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - "I am Quiet, I am the absence of words."

  5. Saying Thanks:

    Diego_1za (July 9th, 2018),  poiromaniax (July 10th, 2018)  

  6. #14
    Senior Member Diego_1za's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    540
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viking View Post
    If you got an old pc then getting a basic psu is dirt cheap hey
    So decided to get the power supply unit instead... Thanks for the offer though, appreciate it.

  7. Saying Thanks:

    Viking (July 9th, 2018)  

  8. #15
    Super Moderator Viking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    18,225
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diego_1za View Post
    So decided to get the power supply unit instead... Thanks for the offer though, appreciate it.
    Best option pal enjoy

  9. #16
    Gaming Wizard
    No.1 Pose
    SauRoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cape town
    Posts
    26,581
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diego_1za View Post
    So decided to get the power supply unit instead... Thanks for the offer though, appreciate it.
    How many HDD's can the tower take?

    Then you can take a look at UnRAID to make your life really simple (does cost money but is cheap).

    There is also the free FreeNAS but I'm not as much of a fan.

    OpenMediaVault also an option.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - "I am Quiet, I am the absence of words."

  10. #17
    Senior Member Diego_1za's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    540
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SauRoN View Post
    How many HDD's can the tower take?

    Then you can take a look at UnRAID to make your life really simple (does cost money but is cheap).

    There is also the free FreeNAS but I'm not as much of a fan.

    OpenMediaVault also an option.
    What do these things do? Are they just there to manage my back ups at home? Sorry if I sound dumb...

  11. #18
    Gaming Wizard
    No.1 Pose
    SauRoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cape town
    Posts
    26,581
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diego_1za View Post
    What do these things do? Are they just there to manage my back ups at home? Sorry if I sound dumb...
    They are all Operating Systems to facilitate hosting of Media and other applications.

    So yes part of it is providing a Network Access Storage over many hard drives that is also redundant.

    But also just allows you to run many Dockers (like Apps) in an easy to manage platform.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - "I am Quiet, I am the absence of words."

  12. Saying Thanks:

    Diego_1za (July 9th, 2018)  

  13. #19
    Senior Member Diego_1za's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    540
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SauRoN View Post
    They are all Operating Systems to facilitate hosting of Media and other applications.

    So yes part of it is providing a Network Access Storage over many hard drives that is also redundant.

    But also just allows you to run many Dockers (like Apps) in an easy to manage platform.
    ok cool, so once I'm up and running then I can use one of these... But please note I will bug you if I get stuck...

  14. #20
    Gaming Wizard
    No.1 Pose
    SauRoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cape town
    Posts
    26,581
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diego_1za View Post
    ok cool, so once I'm up and running then I can use one of these... But please note I will bug you if I get stuck...
    There is always Windows (or other normal Desktop OS options) but I find it's a waste of resources generally.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - "I am Quiet, I am the absence of words."

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •