Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Asus RT-AC87U Wireless-AC2400 Dual Band Gigabit Router

  1. #1
    Junior Member Reeperr13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
    Posts
    15
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default Asus RT-AC87U Wireless-AC2400 Dual Band Gigabit Router

    What Modem do you need to connect Asus RT-AC87U Wireless-AC2400 Dual Band Gigabit Router to internet
    or how do you do it directly
    Link to Asus Help with a diagram of a modem for WAN
    https://www.asus.com/za/support/FAQ/1005485

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Very Senior Member
    LFR Icecream Citadel
    unstoppableErasor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    CPT
    Posts
    1,257
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    To get this bad boy connected to internet
    1. Get fiber not adsl
    2. If you have adsl + adsl router, you can do one of the following
    2.1 Link the two with a lan cable
    2.2 Wireless bridge (could be tricky due to the standard to which its developed)
    3. It does have a fall over for a 3g/4g modem, but 3g data is normally expensive. But if you have a modem and data lying around you can stick it in

    Edit:
    With fiber installation they install 2 boxes inside the one will plug into the other and the one will plug into your router's WAN port
    For a star to be born, there is one thing that must happen: a gaseous nebula must collapse.
    So collapse.
    Crumble.
    This is not your destruction.
    This is your birth.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bloemfontein
    Posts
    67
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    are u using adsl or fibre?

  4. #4
    Junior Member Reeperr13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
    Posts
    15
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Currently Using ADSL

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bloemfontein
    Posts
    67
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reeperr13 View Post
    Currently Using ADSL
    refer to unstoppableErasor post above then, if u had fibre its plug and play.
    Alternatively if its new and the possibility of returning it to said shop, you could get this https://www.asus.com/za/Networking/DSL-AC88U/

  6. Saying Thanks:

    unstoppableErasor (August 2nd, 2018)  

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •