Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Malware Help

  1. #1
    Gaming Wizard
    Sila, Samadhi, Panna
    abev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    26,837
    Experience

    Default Malware Help

    So a few months back, my site www.thatlogo.co.za was hacked and injected with malware.
    I ended up moving hosting companies and rebuilding the entire site from scratch.
    Nothing was reused or moved, I filed for a review in web admin search console and it came back clean and they unblocked the site.

    Problem is somethings seem to still be picking it up as malware.
    I was recently told that a user on Edge had it blocked and Twitter also picks up the URL has malware.

    I cant find anyway of reporting in web console.
    I have made dozens of reports from the standard "anonymous" online reporter, but doesnt seem like google even checks it.

    Anyone have experience with this?

  2. #2
    Gaming Wizard
    Sila, Samadhi, Panna
    abev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    26,837
    Experience

    Default

    No One?

  3. #3
    Senior Member TrokZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Jhb South
    Posts
    374
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Sounds like your URL is still on a blacklist. Try this site https://www.whatismyip.com/blacklist-check/ and enter your website IP address.

  4. #4
    Gaming Wizard
    Sila, Samadhi, Panna
    abev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    26,837
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TrokZA View Post
    Sounds like your URL is still on a blacklist. Try this site https://www.whatismyip.com/blacklist-check/ and enter your website IP address.
    Thanks, negative on all the lists.
    I think maybe certain sites needs to maybe still refresh their own internal blockers or something?

  5. #5
    Very Senior Member
    So what if I'm a puppet? Once upon a time... you were too
    unstoppableErasor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    CPT
    Posts
    1,356
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Im not getting a malware warning on chrome, edge, internet explorer.
    Only ones I currently have running @home.

    Might be able to check later tonight on Firefox. Need to format a pc to Linux Mint, which has Firefox installed by default

    Quote Originally Posted by abev View Post
    rebuilding the entire site from scratch.
    By any chance are you using source control? Could always keep a backup just in case it happens again or you want to revert to a previous iteration.
    Im using bitbucket.org for most of my stuff, even throw away code. Usually delete a project after while if Im not using it again. Also all projects set to private.
    For a star to be born, there is one thing that must happen: a gaseous nebula must collapse.
    So collapse.
    Crumble.
    This is not your destruction.
    This is your birth.

  6. Saying Thanks:

    abev (August 21st, 2018)  

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •