Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: HDR or Dolby - WTF

  1. #31
    Oupa
    RESPECT MY AUTHORITY!!!
    AdrianH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Edenvale, Joburg
    Posts
    5,116
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KenMasters View Post
    Bloody awful. My neighbours bought a Philips, thankfully they got tired of the gimmick pretty quickly and use the plain D65 backlight mode now.
    Why would it bother you what the neighbours use or don't use on their TV?

  2. #32
    Gaming Wizard KenMasters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    KÝbenhavn
    Posts
    8,793
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AdrianH View Post
    Why would it bother you what the neighbours use or don't use on their TV?
    I calibrated their OLED for them, it's good to know they're getting the full benefit.

    Don't you have anything you take pride in doing properly and for which you can admire another's work? By the same token, seeing a job executed badly is irksome. Full ambilight mode was a blight on a job otherwise well done.

    After I was done with the setup I left it on the proper backlight setting, told them to live with it a bit and change back if they felt the need, they didn't. They still like to show it off when people come over and make use of it for parties - not for regular viewing though.

    I shut my mouth with people who clearly don't care, but if it looks like they take an interest I take an interest. Most of the time people are glad I did.

  3. Saying Thanks:

    AdrianH (August 15th, 2019),  creemyv (August 15th, 2019),  SojournZA (August 22nd, 2019)  

  4. #33
    Very Senior Member SojournZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,370
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by poiromaniax View Post
    Try this too:

    Looking at the receiver OSD and using the physical buttons on the receiver (not the remote). Hold the BD/DVD button then press ON/STANDBY button...cycle to 4K Enhanced by pressing ON/STANDBY button again (while still holding the BD/DVD button).
    And bingo was his name

    appears by default it was on "standard" and by using what you said it was changed to enhanced

    Why would they hide this option and not have it on by default?

    Thank you so much and thanks everyone else
    Hidden Content

    I find your lack of faith disturbing - Darth Vader

  5. Saying Thanks:

    KenMasters (August 18th, 2019),  poiromaniax (August 21st, 2019)  

  6. #34
    Gaming Wizard
    No.1 Pose
    SauRoN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cape town
    Posts
    28,950
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SojournZA View Post
    And bingo was his name

    appears by default it was on "standard" and by using what you said it was changed to enhanced

    Why would they hide this option and not have it on by default?

    Thank you so much and thanks everyone else
    Same way I canít understand why itís off by default on TVís.

    Since Ken explained there is a compatibility reason for it which will affect a minority why not make that the optional thing to enable.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - "I am Quiet, I am the absence of words."

  7. Saying Thanks:

    SojournZA (August 22nd, 2019)  

  8. #35
    Senior Member
    Of all the things Ive lost, I miss my mind the most!
    poiromaniax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Norwood, JHB
    Posts
    827
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SojournZA View Post
    And bingo was his name

    appears by default it was on "standard" and by using what you said it was changed to enhanced

    Why would they hide this option and not have it on by default?

    Thank you so much and thanks everyone else
    I think its a bug in the firmware because mine came with it enabled, and then after a firmware update it switched itself to standard and I had to change it again

  9. Saying Thanks:

    SojournZA (August 22nd, 2019)  

  10. #36
    Very Senior Member
    *insert thought here*
    nucleous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    JHB, Roodepoort
    Posts
    1,267
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SojournZA View Post
    I love you taste in movies! Scott Pilgrim is one of my favorite comics and that movie did not disappoint. Micheal was on point!

    With regards to the HDMI cables, I have an older K680 55" Hisense one of those first 4k models in spare bedroom it has 1 4k HDMI port and a lot of my cables causes flickering when plugged in there at first I thought it was due to it being a demo model, scored it for R2.5k the port might be damaged did not bother me as it's only used for plex on occasion. Later bought a Telkom LIT box tested it there with it's supplied cable and it works, the box shows 4K and no more flickers. Weird issue.

    All the other cables I tested that did not work are plugged into the Onkyo and Samsung in living room and everything works as it should there.

  11. Saying Thanks:

    SojournZA (August 22nd, 2019)  

  12. #37
    Very Senior Member SojournZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,370
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    well now i have another weird issue

    if i do the amps test with the surround sound, all the correct speakers play, front left, center, front right, back left, back right, all good

    but if I ran a calibration test with another media form, tested the disney WOW disc last night. when it does the surround back left and back right speaker the sound comes from the front left and right

    will try more testing tonight when i get a chance, grrrrr
    Hidden Content

    I find your lack of faith disturbing - Darth Vader

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •