Page 2803 of 2815 FirstFirst ... 18032303270327532783279928002801280228032804280528062807 ... LastLast
Results 28,021 to 28,030 of 28149

Thread: Recently Purchased PICTURE thread.

  1. #28021
    Addicted Member QuiXilver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    4,420
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tag11 View Post
    So I share this view... and if I go AMD over Intel then I'm quite sure I'll spend a bit more and take a X570 board.

    Does Plex utilise the GPU over the CPU? Even if I'm looking at a modest card like the RX5500 XT or GTX1650 ?

    If I have no intention of overclocking, will I still benefit from 3200 / 3600 RAM ?

    Cheers,
    In terms of transcoding? I think it's more CPU dependent. I just use XMedia Recode to convert all my mkv to mp4 so it direct plays and doesnt transcode.

    I can't speak from an AMD perspective but 3200Mhz ram is more than enough. I remember watching a vid. At some point there's diminishing return and iirc 3200 was the sweet spot. In terms of gaming anyway.

  2. #28022
    Oupa
    *laughs in deranged*
    Sting_Ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Pretoria East
    Posts
    5,831
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Looking forward to this

  3. Saying Thanks:

    GnarkillZA (May 23rd, 2020),  SLYGUY (May 23rd, 2020)  

  4. #28023
    Addicted Member UrBaN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Fourways, JHB
    Posts
    2,706
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tag11 View Post
    So I share this view... and if I go AMD over Intel then I'm quite sure I'll spend a bit more and take a X570 board.

    Does Plex utilise the GPU over the CPU? Even if I'm looking at a modest card like the RX5500 XT or GTX1650 ?

    If I have no intention of overclocking, will I still benefit from 3200 / 3600 RAM ?

    Cheers,

  5. #28024
    Gaming Wizard
    Crossbuy.Crossgen.Crossplay
    Uberutang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    29,284
    Game IDs
    Experience

  6. Saying Thanks:

    bokka1 (May 24th, 2020),  FiveStarZA (May 23rd, 2020),  gamemissy (May 23rd, 2020),  Gouko_Tenrou (May 24th, 2020),  Raikan007 (May 23rd, 2020),  SLYGUY (May 23rd, 2020)  

  7. #28025
    Addicted Member Soprono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    JHB South
    Posts
    2,813
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tag11 View Post
    So I share this view... and if I go AMD over Intel then I'm quite sure I'll spend a bit more and take a X570 board.

    Does Plex utilise the GPU over the CPU? Even if I'm looking at a modest card like the RX5500 XT or GTX1650 ?

    If I have no intention of overclocking, will I still benefit from 3200 / 3600 RAM ?

    Cheers,
    So I'm using it heavily for Plex and by default Plex will use the CPU for transcoding (when directly play isn't an option) that's what pushed me to keep with my Nvidia GPUs. I can then make use of hardware accelerated transcoding along with the unlocked Nvidia drivers which removes the 2 transcode limit of commercial cards.

    I currently average around 17 steams a night with about 8 of them being transcodes and sit on 5% CPU and about 10% GPU usage.

  8. Saying Thanks:

    QuiXilver (May 24th, 2020)  

  9. #28026
    Very Senior Member
    Best Trader 2013
    Married
    Raikan007's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    14,270
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Too excited. Never Read it

  10. Saying Thanks:

    bokka1 (May 24th, 2020),  Cathal (May 24th, 2020),  SamVImes (May 24th, 2020),  SLYGUY (May 24th, 2020),  Sting_Ray (May 24th, 2020),  Uberutang (May 24th, 2020),  vermillon (May 25th, 2020),  Vic54 (May 29th, 2020)  

  11. #28027
    Addicted Member QuiXilver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    4,420
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Soprono View Post
    So I'm using it heavily for Plex and by default Plex will use the CPU for transcoding (when directly play isn't an option) that's what pushed me to keep with my Nvidia GPUs. I can then make use of hardware accelerated transcoding along with the unlocked Nvidia drivers which removes the 2 transcode limit of commercial cards.

    I currently average around 17 steams a night with about 8 of them being transcodes and sit on 5% CPU and about 10% GPU usage.
    Out of curiosity, what size are the mkv's that you're streaming? More specifically, what's the bit rate? I've had endless issues with transcoding 20+gb file sizes. Which led me to just convert them to mp4's which takes about 12-15minutes and now they all play - even a 90 odd gb file I tried recently. It's definitely not my pc that's the bottleneck; I'm running an 8086k @ 5.3ghz with 16gb DDR4 3200 CL14 and a 1080ti. But those large mkv files buffer every few seconds.

  12. #28028
    Addicted Member Tag11's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    3,050
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UrBaN View Post
    Can’t comment on plex. But yea, going DDR4-3200 or 3600 is an instant performance benefit and isn’t really overclocking. The CPU remains at its stock speed, the memory simply works faster at its rated speed. 3600 is ideal because it scales perfectly with infinity fabric and with Ryzen, a 1:1 ratio between memory speed and IF speed is ideal.
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiXilver View Post
    In terms of transcoding? I think it's more CPU dependent. I just use XMedia Recode to convert all my mkv to mp4 so it direct plays and doesnt transcode.

    I can't speak from an AMD perspective but 3200Mhz ram is more than enough. I remember watching a vid. At some point there's diminishing return and iirc 3200 was the sweet spot. In terms of gaming anyway.
    Quote Originally Posted by Soprono View Post
    So I'm using it heavily for Plex and by default Plex will use the CPU for transcoding (when directly play isn't an option) that's what pushed me to keep with my Nvidia GPUs. I can then make use of hardware accelerated transcoding along with the unlocked Nvidia drivers which removes the 2 transcode limit of commercial cards.

    I currently average around 17 steams a night with about 8 of them being transcodes and sit on 5% CPU and about 10% GPU usage.
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiXilver View Post
    Out of curiosity, what size are the mkv's that you're streaming? More specifically, what's the bit rate? I've had endless issues with transcoding 20+gb file sizes. Which led me to just convert them to mp4's which takes about 12-15minutes and now they all play - even a 90 odd gb file I tried recently. It's definitely not my pc that's the bottleneck; I'm running an 8086k @ 5.3ghz with 16gb DDR4 3200 CL14 and a 1080ti. But those large mkv files buffer every few seconds.
    Thanks, noted on the RAM - I will focus my search on DDR4 3200 modules.

    My concern with converting is that I don't really want to lose any quality nor do I want to have to process tons of files in my media library... also, from previous experience, sometimes conversion apps (I haven't used XMedia Recode) not only lose quality, they also increase the file sizes.

    Gee @Soprono what are you running? Some kind of mini movie theatre?

    One of my MKVs is a 57GB UHD file, the Sammy 82RU8000 wouldn't play it natively and streaming/transcoding kept buffering (even via ethernet cable), I eventually got it to work via the Skyworth media player (cheap and simple box, with USB drive plugged in), but it means I have to remove another HDMI device to plug it in.

  13. #28029
    Gaming Wizard
    Crossbuy.Crossgen.Crossplay
    Uberutang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    29,284
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    FYI the Nvidia shield runs plex server and client and it handles 4K like a boss. So if you want a really nice little player look at that.

  14. #28030
    Addicted Member QuiXilver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    4,420
    Game IDs
    Experience

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tag11 View Post
    Thanks, noted on the RAM - I will focus my search on DDR4 3200 modules.

    My concern with converting is that I don't really want to lose any quality nor do I want to have to process tons of files in my media library... also, from previous experience, sometimes conversion apps (I haven't used XMedia Recode) not only lose quality, they also increase the file sizes.

    Gee @Soprono what are you running? Some kind of mini movie theatre?

    One of my MKVs is a 57GB UHD file, the Sammy 82RU8000 wouldn't play it natively and streaming/transcoding kept buffering (even via ethernet cable), I eventually got it to work via the Skyworth media player (cheap and simple box, with USB drive plugged in), but it means I have to remove another HDMI device to plug it in.
    I used to use handbrake. Took donkeys years but got the file to 1/10th the size. And drop in quality - albeit small.

    Xmedia doesn't. Filesize and bit rate is almost identical.

Page 2803 of 2815 FirstFirst ... 18032303270327532783279928002801280228032804280528062807 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •